Press "Enter" to skip to content

Franklin 8U Softball All Stars win Championship; set to compete in State tournament July 8

Young athletes in Macon County are heading to Salisbury, North Carolina on July 8 to compete in the 2022 Little League Softball State Championship Tournament. After being crowned Champions of District 5 — which consists of teams from Franklin, Jackson, and Transylvania counties,  the Franklin Little League Softball 8U All-Stars team is scheduled to take the field on July 8. 

Franklin’s 8U All Star softball team got their first win against District 5 opponents on June 25 when they defeated Jackson County 17-2 after just 3 innings. Later that same day, the team faced off against Transylvania County and won 21-6 after just 4 innings. 

In the final tournament for District 5 8U softball, Franklin was able to hold off a few good hits in the first inning and keep Jackson county to 1 run. Franklin was able to have all 12 batters hit(maximum per inning) in the first inning with 0 recorded outs and put up 9 runs in the first.

In the 2nd inning Jackson county’s first batter in the hit a foul pop fly to Blakeleigh Garret that was caught near the dugout. The second batter hit a foul pop fly towards the first base dugout that was caught by Harper Hamlin. The third batter hit a ground ball that was play well by Paislee Ammons which resulted in 3 up and 3 down in the 2nd inning. 

Franklin came out swinging again and was able to put up another 8 runs in the 2nd innings and the third inning ended early with Franklin winning 17-2 and being crowned District 5 Champions. 

The team of 12 girls will be traveling to Salisbury and are currently raising money to help cover the cost of the trip to the State Tournament. Donations or Sponsorships are appreciated and can be made out to Franklin Little League Softball, with 8U Softball in the memo. Follow Franklin Little League Softball on Facebook to keep up with the girls as they head to State and to learn about fundraisers for the trip. 

Players Pictured in order:

Back row: Harper Hamlin, Brynn Mason, Blakeleigh Garrett, Cora Rholetter, Joanna Morgan, Jacelyn Steele

Front row: Gloria ‘Adaya’ Daniels, Sadie Lambert, Palmer Tallent, Paislee Ammons, Maddie Moeller, Miriam Laird

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *