Press "Enter" to skip to content

Jackson voters select republican nominees for commissioner; school board members 

Voters in Jackson County elected Mark Letson as the Republican nominee for Chairman of the Jackson County Board of Commissioners Tuesday night. Letson beat out Rick Wood for the seat by a narrow margin of just under 100 votes. Letson will head to the November General Election to face off against incumbent Brian McMahan. 

For District 1 of the Jackson County Board of Commissioners Republicans voted for Todd Bryson, who secured nearly 50 percent of the overall ballots cast in the Primary Election. Bryson will challenge Democratic incumbent Commissioner Gayle Woody in November. Republican John W. Smith received 1,415 votes, winning the District 2 seat on the Jackson County Board of Commissioners over Edward Thurston who received 1,378 votes. After winning the primary race, Smith will face off against Democratic incumbent Commissioner Boyce Deitz in November. 

With Jackson County Sheriff Chip Hall announcing his retirement, a field of candidates for both Democrats and Republicans put their names on the ballot. Rick Buchanan defeated former long-time Sheriff Jimmy Ashe with 2,554 votes to Ashe’s 889 votes to win the Democratic nominee for the General Election. Doug Farmer received 2,734 making him the top vote-getters for Republicans. Farmer and Buchanan will face off in November in the General Election. 

The Jackson County Board of Education District 2 seat was won by Lisa Buchanan with 2,865 votes, just over 400 votes more than Abigail Blakley Clayton. Kim Moore was elected to the District 4 seat of the Board of Education, receiving 3,521 votes and Lynn Dillard won the District 5 seat on the board with 2,548 votes. 

Voters elected the next Jackson County Clerk of Court Tuesday night with Kim Poteet receiving 1,988 to Albert Reagan’s 1,840 votes.

United State Senate Democratic Candidate Cheri Beasley secured 81.21 percent of the votes —497,381— in total to solidify her seat as the Democratic nominee for United States Senate for the November ballot. Beasley will face off against Ted Budd, who received 445,343 —58.63 percent of the Republican ballots cast. Budd defeated former North Carolina Governor Pat McCrory who fell short with 186,760 votes.

NC House of Representative District 11 Incumbent Madison Cawthorn, who said it was impossible for an incumbent to lose a re-election bid to Congress, lost the Republican nomination in the district to NC State Senator Chuck Edwards. Edwards received 29,411 votes to Cawthorn’s 28,092.

Cawthorn was able to win his party’s nomination in 12 of NC11’s 15 counties, however Edwards was the majority winner in the district’s most populous counties of Buncombe and Henderson, Cawthorn and Edwards’ home county. Edwards also won Transylvania County. With a field of 8 candidates vying for the District 11 seat, the third top vote-getter in the election, Matthew Burril trailed by nearly 20,000 votes. Chuck Edwards will now head to the November General Election to face off against Democratic Challenger and Buncombe County Commissioner Jasmine Beach-Ferrara who won her party’s nomination with 32,3032 (59.61 percent) votes. Katie Dean was the second-highest vote getter with 13,927 votes, meaning Beach-Ferrara comfortably won the Democratic nominee.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *